“Carry your candle, run to the darkness
Seek out the hopeless, confused and torn…”

-Chris Rice, Go Light Your World

Today I traveled back to the walls of my high school where I attended the sacred Christmas Liturgy, in which one person starts by lighting a candle and using their candle to ignite the light of the person seated next to them until the entire auditorium is illuminating.

The whole point of the ritual is to symbolize the light of God and goodness inside each of us, and inspire us to go out into the world and share that light with those who find themselves in darkness this holiday season and always.

While I know there is a light in me, and I know that I have the potential to make a difference in the world, I still find myself to be in the darkness. I do not pray to God as much as I should, I have strayed from the amount of service I used to carry out, and I find myself holding grudges more and more as I get older.

I want to find my inner light and share it with myself before I share it with others, but I want to make a difference in the world through my writing.

I want my writing to be the light for others, especially those in darkness.

Leave a Reply

